Drawings of everyday life

I’m posting every week in 2011!

The blogging world is full of ‘challenges’. Now WordPress started the challenge to post daily or weekly: DailyPost. It is a community of bloggers with the goal to post daily or weekly. I decided to join the ‘post-weekly-challenge’ on this blog. I already challenged myself since July 2010 to draw every day. It was a nice challenge, I was not too strict about it and ended up with drawing 3 days out of 7. I am very satisfied with that.

Inspired by a Flickr Gallerie of Julia Kay titled ‘Our Work Develops Over Time’ I post here some sketches I made on July 15th, the first day I started drawing since I was a teenager. And next to these sketches of half a year ago, more recent sketches to show the development.

100715BschoolfotoAnoniemChair, 6 months agoCup, 6 months agoTable, 6 months agoMy daughter, 6 months agoM the first time! Six months ago.

After 6 months of drawing I make drawings like these:
M 36th of 100
Coffee Company...
Jewish man

Another way to see the development of my drawings in the last six months is watching this Flickr-slideshow of the portraits I made of M. I challenged myself to draw 100 portraits of my partner M. Till now I made 36, a part of them can be seen in this slideshow.

Gretchen wrote this post about learning to draw her ‘Girls can’t what’-characters.

2 responses

  1. Well done! That’s a great idea to put it next to older work like that. Puts everything into perspective!

    January 6, 2011 at 5:25 am

  2. Pingback: One year ago today I started drawing « Tekenen van alledaagsheid

Leave a comment