Drawings of everyday life

Zen Seeing, Zen Drawing

I bought the book Zen seeing, zen drawing. Meditation in action by Frederick Franck. It reminds me of some of the things Danny Gregory writes. In Danny Gregory’s book License to create there is an exercise to draw a bagel, and draw every, every sesame seed on it. In the same vein Franck begins with the exercise to draw a leaf: “Keeping your eyes riveted on that leaf, let the point of you pencil start to glide on the paper, and feel as if the pencil point were caressing the contours of the leaf.” I’ve read only a small part of Franck’s book, but it inspires me a lot. It makes me appreciate Danny Gregory’s work even more. In Franck’s book the drawings are about nature, landscapes and people, Gregory’s work incorporates the more day-to-day objects. I think a bagel is as interesting as a leaf or maybe even more interesting. Nature is often conflated with spirituality, but I myself really love and get in awe by the production of the human mind: all these objects we make and surround us with. And that’s what I like about Danny Gregory, Michael Nobbs, Nina Johansson and other Urban Sketchers.

The curl on the middle of his forehead in this 63rd drawing of my partner is especially inspired by Franck.
M 63/100

(Franck also wrote “The zen of seeing”, does anyone read this book?)

5 responses

  1. Yes, I read both of them years ago! Fascinating drawing.

    May 8, 2011 at 2:21 am

  2. Very nice drawing. I’m afraid I’m not a fan of Franck’s – I found his tone too prescriptive (about what constitutes ‘real art’) and also oddly angry at times about other people’s egos which didn’t quite gel with the purportedly Zen philosophy of his book, for me. I liked the drawings though :-)

    May 8, 2011 at 3:33 pm

  3. Nice sketch!

    May 9, 2011 at 10:54 am

  4. jessica

    i agreed with kate. its fascinating drawing :)
    what kind of pen do you used?

    June 20, 2011 at 7:51 pm

  5. @Jessica: Mostly a Lamy Safari fountain pen. And sometimes a Pentel Tradio Stylo.

    June 20, 2011 at 8:53 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 499 other followers