Drawings of everyday life

Faces as things

M drawn from life, originally uploaded by Paulien Maria.

A few weeks ago I showed my journals to my friend Nies. She commented that she especially liked my drawings of ‘things’. It made me think further on the idea of humans versus non-humans. I believe that Danny Gregory writes that our gaze is more critical with faces and the human body, because we know it so well. When I draw a human I’m much more nervous when I draw a line which is not in accordance to reality. I can see in my drawings of humans this lack of boldness or naivity. To get around this problem Danny Gregory and Betty Edwards have some tricks: drawing an imageĀ upside down and concentrating on negative space.

My conclusion from my friend’s remarks was that I should think of humans as things. I didn’t bother very much that the lines of the notebook in this drawing are not straight. 101001QuanYin In the same way I would like to try to have this same attitude with lines of faces. In this mindset I did draw this face of M. and that is the reason I like this portrait.

2 responses

  1. You have wonderfully expressive lines. Well done on these. Oddly enough, I find sometimes that ‘things’ give me more trouble than people!

    December 4, 2010 at 7:52 am

  2. These are great sketches! Expressive and interesting. Nice work!

    December 15, 2010 at 9:46 pm

Leave a Reply

