Drawings of everyday life

Focus & Julia Kay’s Portrait Party

Last weeks I have thought about the balance between looking at drawings on the Internet and drawing myself. I learn a lot by looking at the work of other people, but sometimes I get lost in all the browsing. And then I read the downloadable book Focus by Leo Babauta. He advises to create a “completely separate process from consuming and communicating. Separate your day: a time for creating, and a time for consuming and communicating. And never the twain shall meet.” So – instead of endlessly browsing – I made last week some drawings for Julia Kay’s Portrait Party:
TerryBlas for JKPParxigene for JKPPMaría Leonarda Ascencio for JKPPJoan Ramon Farré Burzuri for JKPPBarry / artbwf for JKPP

5 responses

  1. Thank you for sharing your drawings AND your thoughts on balancing your time. I’m coming to the same conclusion…I need to have a separate time for viewing so that there is time for creating. In fact, sometimes the viewing has been a way to not get started creating.

    January 9, 2011 at 1:03 am

    • Yes, you’re absolutely right! It’s hard to find a balance between the two. Your portraits are really good. Well done! nancy

      January 9, 2011 at 2:50 am

  2. Lyn

    How Fun!

    January 9, 2011 at 7:01 pm

  3. I have the same problems with computer time and creating time. Thanks for your post. Good sketches!

    January 10, 2011 at 6:45 pm

  4. I suffer this same problem with balance! It seems like my consuming and communicating takes over the whole day. I like this idea and thanks for the link. It sounds like a book that I need to read!

    Wonderful portraits; I recognized Yvengenia right away! I should really get back into JKPP again. It was so much fun!

    January 13, 2011 at 4:50 am

Leave a Reply

