Drawings of everyday life

Raena by my daughter & me



Raena by my daughter & me, originally uploaded by Paulien Maria.

On my blog I posted some drawings made by my daughter. She got some positive comments. I translated them to her. She also heard me talking about Julia Kay’s Portrait Party, and she said she wanted to join. I started to explain her how the Portrait Party works, and then it turned out that she wanted to draw the people who liked her drawings. So I looked up who in the comments of the blog also was part of Julia Kay’s Portrait Party, and so we started to draw Raena.

She wanted me to do the shape of the head. So I did the head, hand, glasses and hair. Then my daughter made the eyes, eyebrows, nose, mouth and neck/shoulders and the distortion of the glasses on the left of the face. She traced the pencil with marker of her favorite colour and then coloured it with soft pastel. To finish it, she made the marks around the head.

I tried to fixate the drawing with hairspray, which blurred the marker.
Reference photo:
Julia Kay's Portrait Party

6 responses

  1. Jaap Keller

    ERG mooi Barien!!!

    January 9, 2011 at 2:03 pm

  2. I am so amazed at how much this portrait resembles Raena with such personal styles of the artists !

    January 14, 2011 at 12:56 am

  3. A budding artist with style!

    January 14, 2011 at 11:13 am

  4. What a great portrait (with attitude)! Your daughter obviously has talent. I like her style.🙂

    January 14, 2011 at 3:29 pm

  5. Tell your daughter that I showed my whole family and they loved it!

    January 15, 2011 at 1:34 am

  6. Pingback: My 8 year old daughter joined Julia Kay’s Portrait Party « Tekenen van alledaagsheid

Leave a Reply

