Drawings of everyday life

Drawing lab

A few weeks ago, I bought the book “Drawing Lab” by Carla Sonheim. She writes: “This books includes many traditional drawing exercises (…), but I’ve intentionally left out some of the things you might find in traditional drawing books. This book is designed to get you started drawing again, and excited about it!”

The book has 52 exercises, some take several weeks or months to complete, but the most can be done quickly. This drawing was two exercises: Collaborate with a child (Lab 28) and Eyedropper Faces (Lab 13). My daughter made the eyes and eyebrows.
yipsss for Julia Kay's Portrait Party

Here you can see the reference photo.

For a Eyedropper Faces you fill an eyedropper with black FW acrylic ink (I filled it with indian ink) and draw the basics of the face. “Quickly take a piece of toilet paper and lay it on top of your drawing. The ink will soak into the toilet paper and spread out underneath” More Eyedropper Faces:
EAGHL  / Elizabeth Lynch for Julia Kay's Portrait PartyJulia Kay for Julia Kay's Portrait Party

This exercise forced me to buy indian ink, and I read in a Flickr discussion about nibs, so I bought some nibs, and made another drawing with indian ink for Julia Kay’s Portrait Party:
anna a1 / Anna Black for Julia Kay's Portrait Party

8 responses

  1. What a wonderful idea – and, the drawings came out very well! nancy

    January 14, 2011 at 2:10 am

  2. Looks like you both had fun with this (I’m glad to know as I’m one of the artists in that book!)-I do like your eyedropper faces.

    January 14, 2011 at 11:28 am

  3. Seeing everyone’s work from this book is really making me want to get it! Well done!

    January 15, 2011 at 7:37 am

  4. ffyrebird

    Great job, they look like such fun!! I’m in Carla’s class, The Art of Silliness 3 and it is a blast!!

    January 15, 2011 at 9:08 pm

  5. These sketches are all great. I am happy to be among them. Never have heard of eyedropper art but I like the idea. Can it get pretty messy? Granny Annie aka EAGHL/Elizabeth

    January 16, 2011 at 2:03 pm

  6. @EAGHL thank you. It surely is messier as markers. But with the toilet paper at hand, it was simple to wipe out any drops on the table. I was mostly afraid my 8yo daughter would bump against the ink bottle, but she didn’t.

    January 16, 2011 at 3:00 pm

  7. @Sarah Yes, I saw you were part of the book, but I couldn’t find you. But I just stumbled on this post of Carla Sonheim: http://carlasonheim.wordpress.com/2010/07/09/british-artist-sarah-wilde-is-hosting-a-book-giveaway/

    And through that I saw this post on your blog: http://curiouscrow.typepad.com/curious-crow/continuous-line-drawings.html

    I will certainly do this exercise soon, because I’m spending a lot of time in cafes. I feel somewhat akward in drawing people in cafes, I’m afraid they will be angry that I’m looking at them😦

    January 16, 2011 at 3:23 pm

  8. Pingback: Exchange « Tekenen van alledaagsheid

Leave a Reply

