Drawings of everyday life

Visit to Antwerp

M and Antwerpen Centraal

We went to Antwerp two weeks ago and there I remembered our visit to this town in 2005. We exchanged houses, and the owner of the house in Antwerp was an illustrator. His materials and table was there in the living room. I sat down and drew a tomato. I was so disappointed with the result that I didn’t touch a pencil for another five years! The most important part of Danny Gregory’s book “The creative license” was for me page 43 (There are no bad drawings) and pages 54 and 55: “Living well through bad drawings”. The answer to disappointments: just draw, draw, draw.

Coffee in Antwerp

(Pages 22 till 42 were also important to me. After I bought the book “Drawing on the right side of the brain” of Betty Edwards, I found out these pages are a summary of Edward’s book. Danny Gregory’s summary and writing style are much more fun though and I also like his drawings more.)

4 responses

  1. Nice sketches! =)

    May 16, 2011 at 11:17 am

  2. Isn’t it amazing at how much we can beat ourselves. Glad that you are out of the drawing funk.

    May 16, 2011 at 3:54 pm

  3. I know exactly what you mean…it took a while, but I fully agree, “there is no bad art!”

    May 16, 2011 at 6:20 pm

  4. excellent sketch – is it mainly a continuous line?

    May 17, 2011 at 3:27 am

Leave a Reply

