Drawings of everyday life

Margaret Sanger

Margaret Sanger

It is 45 years ago that Margaret Sanger died. She was an American sex educator, nurse and birth control activist. She introduced suffragist and philanthropist Katharine Dexter McCormick to reproductive physiologist Gregory Pincus. McCormick provided a vast funding so Pincus could dramatically expand and accelerate his research to the oral contraceptive pill (‘the pill’). The first contraceptive trials in women were conducted in 1956.

7 responses

  1. I love the sketch! Unfortunately I can’t read the story.

    September 10, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    • I will translate it, but I can’t do it without mistakes, so I hope it is understandable:

      “Margaret Sanger (1883-1966). Drawn from a photo from the Sophia Smith Collection. On the back is the text: ‘American activist, pioneer in the movement for birth control’. Thanks to her there is now ‘the pill’. A long time ago I saw a photo of her (not this one) and I was totally impressed. I was intrigued. The way she looked at me. Another thing: she had eugenetic ideas. She is not only a heroe, but she also has her dark site: she had ideas I can not coincide with my ideas about justice. On the other side: her contrariness has made an impact on the lives of… how many? Millions, billions of women (and men also).

      September 11, 2011 at 5:55 pm

  2. Great portrait of a great lady! I learned something today, so also, thank you!

    September 11, 2011 at 3:48 pm

  3. Nice sketch~!

    September 12, 2011 at 9:17 am

  4. My grandmother lost eight children in childbirth. My dad was her only surviving child. She told my sister and me that the discovery of the birth control pill was the greatest of a lifetime and she would have loved to have been able to prevent the conception of baby after baby knowing it would most likely die.

    By the way, my daughter saw your line drawing of me for the first time last week and absolutely raved about it. I’m a bit out of touch again with JKPP but hope to get back.

    September 12, 2011 at 2:06 pm

  5. Lovely sketch!

    September 12, 2011 at 7:20 pm

  6. ann

    Great sketch and insightful information!

    September 15, 2011 at 7:08 pm

Leave a Reply

