Drawings of everyday life

What am I doing?

My brother Ianus working together with his friend / colleague Aldo
During our relaxed afternoon in the park, during the JKPP meetup in Brussels, Marga asked me how I do draw my drawings. Do I know in advance what I’m going to do?

Sometimes I have no idea at all and I just start somewhere. Most of the time I have some idea about what I want to draw and how I place on the page. During the drawing things always work out differently. Because people move. Because I planned to draw four people, but only three fit on the page. So mostly I just start somewhere and then find out where I will end up.

In this drawing I planned to draw both my brother and his friend, but during the drawing I realized that if I draw the real size of the space between the two, my brother’s friend will not fit on the page, so in the drawing I reduced the distance between them.

3 responses

  1. “Great” is what you are doing!

    October 1, 2011 at 2:37 pm

  2. Well done! I ran into this same problem when drawing some people at a table and had to do the same thing. I think you’ve explained it very well!

    October 5, 2011 at 5:09 pm

  3. Great sketch – such lively lines!

    October 18, 2011 at 10:27 am

Leave a Reply

