Drawings of everyday life

View on the river Merwede

View at the river Merwede from my parent's attic
I somehow lost the habit of drawing every day. Well, I almost never drew every day, but the intention of drawing every day made me draw at least 3 or 4 times a week. The last weeks I forgot to draw even those 3 or 4 times though. Then I remembered Julia Kay and her habit of drawing every day. So I took my journal and didn’t think about what I could draw, didn’t look at Flickr, email, twitter, FB, newspapers and other digital and analog distractions, and started to draw the view I saw regularly the first 18 years of my life. It is the view from my parents house on the river the Merwede.

7 responses

  1. Really nice drawing. I also struggle to draw on a daily basis….but I always carry my sketchbook.

    October 19, 2011 at 12:48 am

  2. And it’s fabulous. Yay for you and a great to to a good habit!

    October 19, 2011 at 11:16 am

  3. Above comment should read…. ‘And a great start to a good habit’…..

    October 19, 2011 at 11:17 am

  4. I keep saying I’m going to start doing this too. Maybe today…..

    October 19, 2011 at 2:48 pm

  5. Ha ha..yes Granny, I too keep saying I am going to do a sketch a day. And yes of course – today may just be the start of it.
    Lovely drawings and fantastic style.
    Stew.

    October 19, 2011 at 3:23 pm

  6. It is so easy to do…getting out of the habit that is. I’ve done it many times. You would think that with as much satisfaction I get from doing it, that it would be a hard habit to break!

    Wonderful sketch! Your parents have lovely windows and view!!

    October 19, 2011 at 6:45 pm

  7. ann

    What a nice view and wonderful drawing!

    October 20, 2011 at 1:36 am

Leave a Reply

