Drawings of everyday life

Watercolor pencil and a wet finger

Anna Black for  JKPP
I bought for my 9-year-old daughter the dutch translation of the book ‘Drawing for the Artistically Undiscovered’ by Quentin Blake and John Cassidy. It is a fun book and my daughter loves to draw in it. Blake advises to use a watercolor pencil and then rub over it with a wet finger. I like the simplicity of it and used it in this drawing of Anna Black. It seems as a good starting point for me to discover the use of color.

8 responses

  1. Oh I do love that. What a neat idea.

    October 23, 2011 at 1:16 pm

  2. I like that idea and your result is wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

    October 23, 2011 at 7:01 pm

  3. Simple yet striking!

    October 23, 2011 at 8:59 pm

  4. Fabulous. I love the energy of this drawing.

    October 24, 2011 at 10:52 am

  5. That’s a cool drawing and technique! I need to search that book on google… Well done!

    October 24, 2011 at 6:24 pm

  6. Great result!

    October 25, 2011 at 7:28 am

  7. This is a cool sketch!

    October 28, 2011 at 5:16 pm

  8. How beautiful lines, and great idea ! Thanks for sharing🙂

    November 29, 2011 at 8:10 pm

Leave a Reply

