Drawings of everyday life

Julia Kay’s Portrait Party

Barb Wright for JKPPDonna McMenamin for JKPPBlue Sky Day / Sandy for JKPPDalton de Luca for JKPPPenny Van Horn for JKPPNiyousha for JKPPDJDG by Barien & Grietje for JKPPAnnalucinka for JKPP by Grietje

One week ago Michael Nobbs tweeted: “Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! @paulienmaria has been working little and often and produced 94 portraits http://ow.ly/7SGjA Michael promotes the Sustainably Creativite tool: the little and often mantra: “Little and often” is for me a gentle reminder to keep moving forward using small regular steps.”

I have seen his approach in two self-help books and it really helped me a lot. While writing my Master thesis in 2005, I sticked to the advice of Joan Bolker in her book Writing Your Dissertation in Fifteen Minutes a Day. Susan Ariel Rainbow Kennedy, or SARK as she is known, calls it “micromovement”: tiny steps that add up to a big difference. She writes about it in her book Make Your Creative Dreams Real.

Last weeks I mainly concentrated on drawing portraits for Julia Kay’s Portrait Party (JKPP) on Flickr: “This group is a virtual Portrait Party in which artists draw each other from photos posted for that purpose. All members of the group are therefore both subjects of portraits and creators of portraits.” I counted my JKPP portraits and found out I made 116 since I started one year ago. I didn’t make any goals and in JKPP there are no expectations: you can draw as much or as little as you want. Fellow JKPP’er Erica Smith wrote on Facebook when she passed the 100 JKPP portraits: “Drawing this many portraits really crept up on me, it wasn’t hard!” That’s exactly my experience.

5 responses

  1. Very cool work! They all have a lot of character.

    December 17, 2011 at 9:01 pm

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Self-Portrait | Inspired Vision

  3. The portraits show lots of lively line and great personality. I love this concept of little and often. Off to apply it!

    December 18, 2011 at 5:24 am

  4. Great portraits with lots of character!

    December 19, 2011 at 10:21 pm

  5. wonderful illustrations

    December 25, 2011 at 1:53 pm

Leave a Reply

