Drawings of everyday life

Some thoughts on challenges, drawing and blogging

M. February 12th
Since I am a member of the ‘blogging without obligation’ – tribe, I will not apologize that I didn’t blog for four months. I would like to share some thoughts, though, about not having blogged for a while.

In 2011 I committed myself to drawing every day, blogging every week and I challenged myself to draw my partner 100 times. I didn’t blog every week, bur I’m very satisfied with 43 posts in one year. Committing myself to drawing every day, made me draw about 2 till 5 times a week and I am very satisfied with that too. It resulted in a lot of JKPP-drawings and this pile of diaries.
My drawing diaries: July 2010 till January 2012

In January I reached my goal of drawing my partner 100 times, for 2012 I didn’t commit myself to blog every week. After January I didn’t post anymore and I almost stopped drawing. I said to myself: maybe it is good to stop for a while, to reflect on drawing. Why do I draw? Well, after ‘reflecting’ for four months I do not have a clue. My conclusion is that thinking about drawing without drawing is not very insightful. I do know that I need some activities in which I do not ‘think’. And I do know that I need a challenge, routine or whatever to keep me drawing. At the moment I can’t think of another challenge than to start blogging again every week. So…see you next week.

8 responses

  1. Welcome Back

    April 22, 2012 at 4:57 pm

  2. Kathleen Walker

    Best wishes for meeting your goals with both drawing and the blog, I know that I draw more because I need content for the blog, So blogging has helped to keep me focused.

    April 22, 2012 at 6:20 pm

  3. Glad you are back. I love the quality of your line drawings. I’m also not a consistent blogger/poster.

    April 22, 2012 at 7:00 pm

  4. freebirdsings

    I tend to need structure too. Blogging without obligations is fine and we don’t have to always do it but I know I started by blogging a lot and now almost never. Sometimes I draw and sometimes I let that slide too. It seems if I get going on computer games it sucks all the hours out of a day with nothing to show for it. With drawing, we have something. Something we might or might not like but something! And every drawing helps us do better on another one. I have no insights either. Guess I should just get busy with drawing too! I hadn’t even gone to the EDM site for a long time and that helps with keeping one inspired. That much I know.

    April 23, 2012 at 5:52 am

  5. Charlotte

    I agree that thinking about drawing without drawing is not usually very useful!
    And for what it’s worth, it always makes me happy when a message arrives to say that there’s a new post on your blog…

    April 23, 2012 at 10:14 am

  6. Thank you so much for telling me about ‘blogging without obligation’ – I feel better now!
    I always enjoy your sketches so am pleased that you are not intending to stop posting.

    April 23, 2012 at 5:56 pm

  7. Hehe! I really like your conclusion! Like you, I don’t like feeling obliged – but I know I need routines and motivators or I don’t get anything done (except obligations!).
    Nice drawing, by the way!

    April 23, 2012 at 10:18 pm

  8. Your post certainly resonated with me … I can go for a long time without drawing too, but all the while I wonder, “Why am I not drawing?” and I sort of agonize about it. I guess it’s just my nature. nancy

    April 23, 2012 at 10:23 pm

Leave a Reply

