Drawings of everyday life

Number 46: heading towards 100 portraits of M.

M 46th time.
I challenged myself to draw 100 portraits of my partner M. This is the 46th one. He is a very good subject to draw: he is around much, he sits quiet for long times (looking at his laptop, tv and/or a book), he doesn’t start to act strangely when I draw him, neither do I. The last thing is not unimportant. I often get nervous when I draw a friend, because I worry about the result.

More portraits of M. are in this Flickr slide show:

8 responses

  1. What a great way to get good practice! The sketches are very nice.

    March 5, 2011 at 1:33 am

  2. Very nice, indeed! nancy

    March 5, 2011 at 2:20 am

  3. I have drawn several portraits of my spouse. Perhaps I shall count what I have already done and see if I can continue to 100. That is a fun challenge and I love your sketches. (EAGHL)

    March 6, 2011 at 12:41 pm

  4. Dan

    I really love the line drawing at the top of the post. My wife won’t let me draw her(so all my drawings are on the sly..don’t tell her.) 😉

    March 6, 2011 at 10:50 pm

  5. You are lucky to have such a great model! Not only does he have wonderful structure, but he is still! My husband fidgets, especially when he senses me sketching him!

    March 7, 2011 at 10:19 pm

  6. Pingback: He is sitting behind his laptop. « Tekenen van alledaagsheid

  7. barry

    It is very nice to see these expressive drawings. I like your approach.

    April 23, 2011 at 11:55 pm

Leave a comment